Do we have prejudices in our work?

During one weekend training program on using web platforms  one young teacher approached me and said: Thank you that you helped me yesterday to learn a lot. When I came back home I said to my husband that he can be proud to have so smart since I know to set up journals on line.  I was happy that  I became skilled after your training.  But, he was upset and he said: It is better that you cook lunch instead of setting up journals. Women are for cooking not programming.

I was shocked when I heard that story. In my work with numerous institutions I experienced many times situations in which some prejudices were so dominantly present.  Some are based on gender, background education or other basis for wrong conclusions.  Well, those prejudices were not openly expressed but it was obvious in different situations what is their predominantly situational and organizational articulation.  I will list just a few prejudices:

  1. Men are better in technology than women
  2. Scholars in exact/natural sciences are better in technologies than those who work in art and humanities
  3. All young students are better in technology than older scholars
  4. Learning of procedures of OA reviewing, editing and publishing is for system administrators
  5. Free software is marketing method for asking for money later on
  6. Scholars from developed countries are better than those from developing countries
  7. Being professor means that you do not need to learn about web platform and Open Access, since you are intellectual already

I could list more, but all of that means that there is still long way in front of us.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

